First things first

It’s hard to know what to say.

Not only because I’m staring into the vast, open yawn that is my so-far empty blog, which in all honestly I only signed up for on a whim. It’s also hard to know what to say because for all my hum-ing and ha-ing about what the focus of this blog should be, I’ve still got absolutely no idea. I don’t have a niche or some special expertise on which I’m just dying to instruct the world. I like crafting but I’m not particularly good at it. I exercise but I’m hardly what you’d call a fitness guru. I love makeup but I’m no beauty queen. I love beautiful clothes but I’m often too self-conscious to buy and wear them. My hair never does what it’s told.

I’m really selling myself, aren’t I?

It being early in 2016, I could talk about my big ambitions for the coming months and peg 2016 as “my year”, but honestly I’ve thrown a lot of dice into the air lately and none of them have landed yet, so I have no solid plans. I could tell you all about myself, but I’m sure anyone reading this will figure things out as they go.

That’s a lot of buts, right? I was about to “but” myself into a corner. What I actually love to do, but haven’t done much of in a long time, is write, and I’ve come up with too many excuses as to why that is. One of those excuses (and one of my all-time favourites) is that I can’t think of anything to write about. So often, by friends and fellow writers alike, I’ve been advised to “just write”.

So I’m just going to write. I don’t have a clue what’s going to end up on this blog in the coming weeks and (if I manage to stick with it that long) months, but for now I’m not going to put too much pressure on it. I’m just going to throw things at the wall and see what sticks. You’re welcome – encouraged, even – to come along for this ride. No height restrictions.

Leave a Reply

