Not Quite Sprung

wp-1455223666550.jpg

I’m not quite saying that spring has sprung just yet – it’s only February after all – but I do think I can see it on the horizon this week… that is, if I squint really, really hard and ignore the fact that it’s still freezing outside and it’s dark by six o’clock. Still, we’ve had some beautiful days in Belfast among all the rainy ones. The sky has been clear and the air has been fresh, and for the first time in a few months I actually enjoyed a walk during my lunch break. I even took a couple of photographs, one of which you can see above!

As I start to claw my way out of the funk that comes with the long nights and horrible weather, I’m trying to come up with a plan of action for spring. Anyone who knows me also knows how much I love this time of year. I love waking up to daylight, and feeling that weak, winter-sun warmth as it peeks in and out of the clouds. It takes very little to make me happy.

It seemed like a good weekend to do a bit of a clear out, so I turned my attention to my wardrobe. I can’t be the only person who has a ton of clothes, and yet only wears three or four items on repeat. And of course, it’s always the most boring, drab three or four items that I own. Meanwhile, a lot of my pretty dresses and tops have ended up abandoned on an old clothes rail in our spare room, well and truly out of rotation. Today I tried each item on and decided what I was keeping and what was going to the charity shop.
wp-1455383152258.jpgwp-1455385190145.jpg
It took about two hours altogether, and I was delighted to rediscover some old gems that I’d totally forgotten about! Plus, once I was finished I was able to actually see into my wardrobe for a change, and honestly it was a relief. I feel like I’m slowly getting ready for spring, and I hope the weather won’t disappoint me – I’ve got a lot of dresses to wear!

What about you? Does the first sign of milder weather give you the motivation to complete a particular task? Let me know!

-N

2 thoughts on “Not Quite Sprung

Leave a Reply

